• Drucken

Brief profile of the University of Kaiserslautern

University of Kaiserslautern

Future-oriented courses of study, practical real-world training and a modern infrastructure are the framework conditions that students can expect to find at the University of Kaiserslautern. Since its foundation in 1970, the only university in the Rhineland-Palatinate with a technical and engineering focus has earned an enviable reputation and can more than hold its own against the established technical universities.

The award presented to the University of Kaiserslautern in October 2009 in the "Excellence in Teaching" competition, honouring the establishment as one of only six winning universities in Germany, is living proof of the high standard of teaching on offer.

As a campus university with around 12,500 students (some 4,000 of whom are distance learning students), it offers over 100 future-oriented, practice-based courses of study in twelve departments. Its easily manageable size also guarantees students close contact to professors and outstanding student support. In addition to this, students benefit from the numerous renowned research institutes, including two Fraunhofer Institutes, one Max Planck Institute, the German Research Centre for Artificial Intelligence (DFKI) and the Institute for Composite Materials (IVW), all of which are located either on or near the campus and collaborate closely with the university in the field of applied research.

In January 2010, the University of Kaiserslautern and the institutes IESE, ITWM, DFKI and the ITA won two of a total of five awards in the top cluster competition held by the German Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF).

Two research centers were established at the University of Kaiserslautern in mid-2008 with the aim of setting up major, coordinated research ventures, including special areas of research, and successfully winning project funding within the scope of national and international measures promoting excellence.

» www.uni-kl.de

• Drucken

Das DISC – wissenschaftliche Einrichtung der TU Kaiserslautern

Kurzprofil TU Kaiserslautern

Zukunftsorientierte Studiengänge, eine praxisnahe Ausbildung und eine moderne Infrastruktur, das sind die Rahmenbedingungen, die Studierende an der TU Kaiserslautern vorfinden. Die einzig technisch-ingenieurwissenschaftlich ausgerichtete Universität in Rheinland-Pfalz hat sich seit ihrer Gründung im Jahre 1970 eine beachtliche Reputation erworben und braucht den Vergleich mit etablierten technischen Hochschulen nicht zu scheuen.

Die Auszeichnung der TU Kaiserslautern, die im Oktober 2009 im bundesweiten Wettbewerb „Exzellenz in der Lehre“ als eine der sechs Sieger-Universitäten hervorging, ist lebender Beweis für den hohen Stellenwert der Lehre an der Universität.

Als Campus-Universität mit rund 12.500 Studierenden (davon ca. 4.000 Fernstudierenden) bietet sie in zwölf Fachbereichen über 100 zukunfts- und praxisorientierte Studiengänge an und gewährleistet durch ihre überschaubare Größe engen Kontakt zu Professoren sowie eine ausgezeichnete Betreuungssituation. Darüber hinaus profitieren die Studierenden von den zahlreichen renommierten Forschungseinrichtungen, darunter zwei Fraunhofer-Institute, ein Max-Planck-Institut, das Deutsche Forschungszentrum für Künstliche Intelligenz und das Institut für Verbundwerkstoffe, die unmittelbar auf dem Campus bzw. in der Nähe angesiedelt sind und im Bereich der angewandten Forschung eng mit der TU kooperieren.

Im Januar 2010 waren die TU Kaiserslautern und die Institute IESE, ITWM, DFKI sowie das ITA zweifacher Sieger von insgesamt fünf Gewinnern im Spitzencluster-Wettbewerb des Bundesministeriums für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF).

Zwei Forschungszentren wurden Mitte 2008 an der TU Kaiserslautern gegründet, die das Ziel verfolgen, große, koordinierte Forschungsvorhaben, z. B. Sonder-forschungsbereiche einzurichten und erfolgreich Projekte im Rahmen nationaler und internationaler Fördermaßnahmen der Exzellenz einzuwerben.

» www.uni-kl.de