Share:

The Master's programme Financial Engineering

Scientific director: Prof. Dr. Jörn Saß

 

 

Complex financial markets

In-depth knowledge of and expertise in modern financial mathematics and actuarial science, and the ability to apply these statistically and numerically, are becoming increasingly important in the financial and insurance sectors.

Target group

The English-language Master's programme is aimed at graduates of mathematics or other subjects with significant proportions of mathematics who wish to acquire a detailed understanding of financial mathematics.

Objective and degree

The distance learning programme provides the participants with the necessary advanced and theoretical foundations and competencies in the areas of financial mathematics and financial economics, the ability to create links to actuarial science, and imparts statistical and numerical methods.

Graduates are awarded a diploma from the Technische Universität Kaiserslautern, a certificate documenting conferment of the academic degree Master of Science (M.Sc.) as well as an English-language Diploma Supplement.

Programme concept

Programme content

The distance learning programme comprises ten compulsory modules that focus on, for example

  • Financial mathematics,
  • Interest rate models,
  • Financial decision making,
  • Economics of banking,
  • Insurance mathematics,
  • Risk measures and rating systems,
  • Financial statistics,
  • Computational methods in finance.

 

Admission requirements

  • Access with a first degree

The application is open to people with a first degree of at least six semesters in a mathematics related discipline. In addition, evidence of a relevant professional experience of at least one year after the first degree must be provided. Further information can be found here.

  • Access without a first degree

Interested persons without a first degree have the opportunity to qualify for the programme by taking an aptitude test if they have sufficient relevant professional experience.

  • Evidence of knowledge

Since the programme is taught in English, sufficient evidence of English language skills must be provided. In addition, evidence of sufficient knowledge from previous studies must be provided by means of an evaluation point system and successfully passed examinations for modules in the fields of analysis and stochastics. It is possible to provide evidence of this knowledge under certain conditions during the first year of study. More information can be found in the examination regulations.

Schedule and organisation

The distance learning programme in Financial Engineering has a standard period of study of six semesters (part-time). Mandatory on-campus phases take place once or twice per semester over a (long) weekend in Kaiserslautern. All written module examinations are completed during mandatory on-campus phases.

A weekly commitment of around 16-18 hours is required to study the material, complete the assignments (mail-in assignments), take the examinations, complete the online tutorials, pass the oral examinations and complete the Master's thesis (amongst others).

 

At a glance

At the moment, the tuition fees are EUR 1,990 per semester as well as the social contribution of currently EUR 102 per semester. The one-time fee for the Master's thesis is EUR 500. The tuition fees do not include travel and accommodation expenses or meal allowances during the on-campus phases. Only the social contribution is charged in the first and second semester after the end of the standard period of study. Tuition fees are reduced to 30 percent of the original fee as of the third semester exceeding the standard period of study; this does not apply to the Master's thesis fee. The tuition fees are exempted from German VAT and may be tax-deductible if the legal requirements are fulfilled. An installment payment request is possible, further information can be found here.

Subject to change.

The aim of the aptitude test is to determine whether candidates with professional experience but no university degree have comparable skills and knowledge to candidates with a completed undergraduate degree. The application for admission to the aptitude test must be submitted to the Subdivision Distance Student Affairs.

For more information on deadlines or requirements, please click here.

The distance learning programme starts in the winter semester (October) of every year. Information on the application procedure and deadlines can be accessed here.

The legal and organisational framework of Financial Engineering is defined in the examination regulation.

The distance learning programme's scientific director is Prof. Dr. Jörn Saß (TU Kaiserslautern).

The distance learning programme Financial Engineering is accredited to award the academic degree Master of Science (M.Sc.). The programme received system accreditation in an internal process from the accreditation council of the cross-university quality management centre.

Admission to the distance learning programme is regulated through a special evaluation points system that can be accessed here. The required prior knowledge of analysis and stochastics can also be acquired in courses that may have to be taken subject to conditions.

Distance learning programmes are basically defined by the fact that students do not physically attend the institution of higher education, instead the institution of higher education comes to them. Both programme organisation and the didactically prepared learning materials are based on the concept of independent learning: the learners are supported in taking personal responsibility for their own learning process by a teaching-learning arrangement that consists of a combination of self-learning materials, on-campus phases and online-based interactions in the online campus. Each programme has an own virtual learning environment within the online campus that accompanies the students for the duration of their course. During the on-campus phases, the students have the opportunity to consolidate and substantiate the self-taught content in the context of practical classes and group work and to further discuss their acquired skills and knowledge in consideration of current issues.

We are here for you

Ludmilla Gutmacher
Ludmilla Gutmacher M.Sc.
Programme Management Financial Engineering
+49 631 205-5367
financialeng [at] disc [dot] uni-kl [dot] de
Programme Management Technoethics
+49 631 205-5367
technoethik [at] disc [dot] uni-kl [dot] de
Susan Carter
Susan Carter
Secretary's Office Master (Blended Learning) of Evaluation (MABLE)
+49 631 205-5376
info [at] mable-evaluation [dot] com
Secretary's Office Financial Engineering
+49 631 205-5376
financialeng [at] disc [dot] uni-kl [dot] de

All questions concerning application and examination procedures will be answered by the Subdivision Distance Student Affairs.

Jetzt teilen:

Der Master-Fernstudiengang Financial Engineering

Fachliche Leitung: Prof. Dr. Jörn Saß

 

 

Komplexe Finanzmärkte

In der Finanz- und Versicherungsindustrie wird es immer wichtiger, vertiefte Kenntnisse und Methoden sowohl der modernen Finanzmathematik als auch der Versicherungsmathematik zu haben und diese statistisch und numerisch umsetzen zu können.

Zielgruppe

Der englischsprachige Fernstudiengang richtet sich unter anderem an Absolventinnen und Absolventen der Mathematik oder anderer Fachrichtungen mit signifikantem Mathematikanteil, die ein vertiefendes Verständnis der Finanzmathematik erlangen wollen.

Zielsetzung und Abschluss

Das Studium bietet den Teilnehmenden, die notwendigen fortgeschrittenen theoretischen Grundlagen und Kompetenzen aus den Bereichen der Finanzmathematik und den Financial Economics zu erarbeiten, Bezüge zur Versicherungsmathematik herzustellen sowie statistische und numerische Methoden bereitzustellen.

Der erfolgreiche Abschluss wird durch ein Zeugnis der Technischen Universität Kaiserslautern, eine Urkunde über die Verleihung des akademischen Grades Master of Science (M.Sc.) und ein Diploma Supplement in englischer Sprache bescheinigt.

Das Studienkonzept

Studieninhalte

Der Studiengang umfasst zehn Pflichtmodule. Diese beinhalten unter anderem die Themen

  • Financial Mathematics,
  • Interest Rate Models,
  • Financial Decision Making,
  • Economics of Banking,
  • Insurance Mathematics,
  • Risk Measures and Rating Systems,
  • Financial Statistics,
  • Computational Methods in Finance.

Zugangsvoraussetzungen

  • Zugang mit Hochschulabschluss

Bewerben können sich Personen mit einem abgeschlossenen mindestens sechssemestrigen Hochschulstudium aus mathematiknahen Fachrichtungen. Zusätzlich muss eine einschlägige Berufstätigkeit von mindestens einem Jahr nach dem Erststudium nachgewiesen werden. Nähere Informationen finden Sie hier.

  • Zugang für beruflich Qualifizierte

Interessierte ohne ersten Hochschulabschluss haben die Möglichkeit, sich mit ausreichend einschlägiger Berufstätigkeit über eine Eignungsprüfung für das Studium zu qualifizieren.

  • Nachweis von Kenntnissen

Da es sich um einen englischsprachigen Studiengang handelt, ist ein ausreichender Nachweis der Englischkenntnisse zu erbringen. Darüber hinaus muss durch ein Bewertungspunktesystem und erfolgreich abgelegte Prüfungen zu Modulen im Bereich Analysis und Stochastik ein Nachweis ausreichender Kenntnisse aus dem Vorstudium erfolgen. Es ist möglich, den Nachweis dieser Kenntnisse unter Auflagen während des ersten Studienjahres zu erbringen. Weitere Informationen finden Sie in der Prüfungsordnung.

Ablauf und Organisation

Der Fernstudiengang Financial Engineering hat eine Regelstudienzeit von sechs Semestern (berufsbegleitend). Verpflichtende Präsenzphasen finden ein- bis zweimal pro Semester an einem (verlängerten) Wochenende in Kaiserslautern statt. Schriftliche Prüfungen, die ein Modul abschließen, sind Teil von Präsenzphasen.

Für die Studien- und Prüfungsleistungen ist ein wöchentlicher Zeitaufwand von etwa 16 bis 18 Stunden erforderlich. Diese Leistungen sind unter anderem in Form von Klausuren, Einsendeaufgaben, Online-Tutorials, mündlichen Prüfungen sowie der Masterarbeit zu erbringen.

Auf einen Blick

Das Studienentgelt beträgt zurzeit 1.990 Euro pro Semester, zuzüglich eines Sozialbeitrages in Höhe von derzeit 102 Euro pro Semester. Das einmalige Entgelt für die Masterarbeit beträgt zurzeit 500 Euro. Nicht enthalten sind Reise-, Übernachtungs- und Verpflegungskosten im Rahmen der Präsenzphasen. Im ersten und zweiten Semester über die Regelstudienzeit hinaus fällt lediglich der Sozialbeitrag an. Ab dem dritten Semester über die Regelstudienzeit hinaus wird ein reduziertes Entgelt in Höhe von 30 Prozent des Semesterentgelts festgesetzt, unbeschadet der Kosten für die Masterarbeit. Das Studienentgelt unterliegt nicht der MwSt. und kann steuerlich absetzbar sein, sofern die gesetzlichen Voraussetzungen erfüllt sind. Ein Antrag auf Ratenzahlung ist möglich, weitere Informationen finden Sie hier.

Änderungen vorbehalten.

Durch die Eignungsprüfung für beruflich Qualifizierte ohne Hochschulabschluss soll festgestellt werden, ob die fachliche Voraussetzung der Bewerbenden mit der eines abgeschlossenen grundständigen Studiums vergleichbar ist. Der Antrag auf Zulassung zur Eignungsprüfung muss der Abteilung für Fernstudienangelegenheiten zugesandt werden.

Nähere Informationen zu den Fristen und Anforderungen erhalten Sie hier.

Der Fernstudiengang beginnt zum Wintersemester im Oktober jeden Jahres. Informationen zu Bewerbungsverfahren und Fristen finden Sie hier.

Die rechtlichen und organisatorischen Rahmenbedingungen des Studiengangs Financial Engineering sind in der Prüfungsordnung festgelegt.

Die fachliche Leitung des Fernstudiengangs hat Prof. Dr. Jörn Saß (TU Kaiserslautern) inne.

Der Fernstudiengang Financial Engineering ist für die Vergabe des akademischen Grades Master of Science (M.Sc.) akkreditiert. Der Akkreditierungsrat des hochschulübergreifenden Qualitätsmanagements hat den Studiengang in einem internen Verfahren systemakkreditiert.

Für die Zulassung zu diesem Studiengang gibt es ein spezielles Bewertungspunktesystem, das hier zu finden ist. Es ist zudem möglich, die benötigten Vorkenntnisse in Analysis und Stochastik im Rahmen von Auflagen während des ersten Studienjahres zu erbringen.

Das Wesen eines Fernstudiums besteht darin, dass die Studierenden nicht zur Hochschule kommen, sondern die Hochschule gewissermaßen zu den Studierenden kommt. Sowohl die Studienorganisation als auch die didaktische Ausrichtung der Studienmaterialien orientieren sich am Konzept des „Independent Learning“: Die Eigenverantwortlichkeit der Lernenden für ihren Lernprozess wird durch ein Lehr-Lernarrangement unterstützt, das aus einer Kombination von Selbstlernmaterialien, Präsenzphasen und onlinebasierter Interaktion im Online-Campus besteht. Jeder Studiengang verfügt über diese virtuelle Lernumgebung, die durch den gesamten Verlauf des Studiums leitet. In den Präsenzphasen werden die im Selbststudium erarbeiteten Inhalte im Rahmen von Übungen und Gruppenarbeiten vertieft und vor dem Hintergrund aktueller Fragestellungen diskutiert.

Wir sind gerne für Sie da

Ludmilla Gutmacher
Ludmilla Gutmacher, M.Sc.
Programmmanagement Financial Engineering
+49 631 205-5367
financialeng [at] disc [dot] uni-kl [dot] de
Programmmanagement Technoethik
+49 631 205-5367
technoethik [at] disc [dot] uni-kl [dot] de
Susan Carter
Susan Carter
Sekretariat Master (Blended Learning) of Evaluation (MABLE)
+49 631 205-5376
info [at] mable-evaluation [dot] com
Sekretariat Financial Engineering
+49 631 205-5376
financialeng [at] disc [dot] uni-kl [dot] de

Alle Fragen rund um Bewerbung und Prüfungsverfahren werden Ihnen von der Abteilung für Fernstudienangelegenheiten beantwortet.