Yes, payment by instalments is possible. Further information about the procedure and the deadlines can be found here.

Distance learning students have the opportunity to take part in the offerings of the Unisport in the same extent as full-time students. By presenting your university identity card you will access all offerings for students. This includes the fitness center Unifit and the whole sports programme of the Unisport. Further information about courses, fitness subscription and other sports events can be found here

Distance learning students receive access to the resources of the library on and off campus. Further information about registration and the use of e-resources can be found here.

Attending courses of other faculties of the university as a guest auditor is not included in the distance learning programme. If you want to attend further courses you need to register at the Subdivision of Student Affairs. More information about the requirements and fees can be found here.

Whether an entitlement to educational leave exists always depends on the federal state and must therefore be considered individually. In addition, there are differences in the deadlines, the duration and the financial support provided by employers. All necessary information and laws for an application for this purpose can be found here.

Aside from the constant availability and advice from the programme management of the respective programmes, there are also further measures such as for example the eDSL or KLOOCs. Furthermore, there is an annual DISC workshop in Kaiserslautern during which multiple seminars are offered on specific topics.

The graduation party of the DISC takes place every two years during the "European Researchers Night" (former "Nacht, die Wissen schafft") at the TU Kaiserslautern. If you register in the alumni network TUKAN, you will always receive the latest information.

All comprehensive information can be found on the following page.

All necessary information can be found on the following page.

Generally yes, but determination of whether a degree programme is suited for a specific doctoral programme is the responsibility of the respective authority or university. Admission to a doctoral programme is defined in the respective doctoral degree regulations. Students must independently find a supervisor (professor) for the doctoral thesis and clarify which requirements are stated in the current doctoral degree regulations.

The Technische Universität Kaiserslautern (TUK) provides a parent-child room for students and employees at the TUK that can also be used by distance students with children during the on-campus phases as follows: For example, breastfeeding mothers can take of their babies before and after seminars or examinations in a comfortable environment so that they can fully concentrate on the learning or examination situation. Parents can independently organise child care (bring your own child care or enquire at family services). The room can be used by maximum two families at the same time. The condition for dual use is the consent of the family that booked the room first.

Interruptions to the distance learning programmes, for example as absence semesters, are possible.

The distance learning programmes of the DISC are not funded by the Employment Promotion Act (Arbeitsförderungsgesetz) or the Federal Training Assistance Act (Bundesausbildungsförderungsgesetz, BAföG). The costs of the distance learning programme are frequently assumed by the employer. Use of so-called education and qualification vouchers is also possible for distance learning programmes. Financial support for individual continuing education courses can also be found in the form of low-interest bank loans. Further information on scholarships and financing options can be found here.

In general, international students who wish to enrol in a German-language programme in Germany, must submit proof of sufficient German proficiency. This is normally accomplished by taking the Deutsche Sprachprüfung für den Hochschulzugang (DSH). The DSH is aimed at all international applicants who already have a valid letter of admission from a university for admission to the course in the semester following the DSH examination date. Successful completion of the DSH test is mandatory for all applicants. There are, however, some exceptions. The following groups of applicants are exempt from the DSH:

1. Applicants who can prove the required language proficiency in the form of a school leaving certificate that is equivalent to a German higher education entrance qualification.

2. Applicants who completed the Deutsches Sprachdiplom (Level II) of the Conference of German Ministers of Education (DSD II).

3. Applicants with a Goethe-Zertifikat C2, formally the Zentrale Oberstufenprüfung (ZOP) of the Goethe-Institut.

4. Applicants who have the Kleines Deutsches Sprachdiplom or the Großes Deutsches Sprachdiplom of the Goethe-Institut.

5. Applicants who completed the DSH at a foreign university under the responsibility of a preparatory college or in the field of German as a Foreign Language.

6. Applicants who completed an assessment or final test at a German preparatory college.

Furthermore, applicants do not require proof of German proficiency if the programme is taught in English. In this case, however, applicants must submit proof of English-language proficiency. Further information on language skills can be found here.

How much time is needed for distance learning programme varies strongly from student to student as it is contingent on prior knowledge and personal learning strategy. Our 25 years of experience in providing distance learning programmes has shown, however, that students should normally allocate around 20 hours per week. That time is allocated to different activities, such as working on the self-learning material, literature research, completing practise exercises, taking examinations, writing term papers and attending the on-campus phases.

There are normally alternative dates to choose from. If students are unable to take part in the on-campus phase due to a professional stay abroad, in some distance learning programmes it is possible to apply for an external written examination, for example at a German institute on site. In case of non-participation in on-campus phases, a replacement performance is required in some distance learning programmes. A withdrawal of examinations is also possible.

The programmes consist of a combination of self-study phases with the help of self-learning materials, which were specifically developed for the distance learning programme, and on-campus phases that normally take place once or twice per semester over a (long) weekend. Participation in the on-campus phases is a mandatory component of the distance learning programmes. The main point of interest for students is the online campus with own online learning environments for each distance learning programme.

As part of the accreditation process, the degree programme is evaluated on the basis of criteria determined by the German Accreditation Council thus ensuring the high quality of the programme. Most of the DISC programmes are accredited by accreditation agencies, some are system accredited by the TU Kaiserslautern or the Saarland University.

In general, distance learning programmes have the option to allow for recognition of previously completed examination components or knowledge acquired elsewhere. Recognition of competencies is defined in the respective examination rules and regulations and can only be determined by the examination committee. Proof of the previously acquired skills and knowledge must normally be submitted.

Yes, accredited postgraduate distance learning programmes at the DISC are completed with conferment of the academic degree Master of Arts, Master of Science, Master of Laws or Master of Engineering (contingent on the programme's orientation).Graduates of the Certificate programmes receive a university certificate.

Distance learning programmes generally require professional experience (minimum one year) in addition to an undergraduate degree. Programme duration at the DISC varies between two and six semesters. The programmes are normally aimed at professionals who wish to specialise in their area or field and are therefore offered as part-time programmes. Distance learning programmes are often application-oriented and attempt to take into consideration the current requirements of the labour market. Research-oriented distance learning programmes normally prepare their participants for an academic career at a university or research facility. In Rhineland-Palatinate, distance learning programmes are completed with the conferment of a Master's degree or a Certificate.

The DISC is a central scientific department of the Technische Universität Kaiserslautern and currently offers more than 25 postgraduate distance learning programmes which culminate in conferment of Master's degrees or Certificates in the areas of Human Resources, Management & Law as well as Science & Engineering. The programmes enable university graduates an individual continuing education track at a scientific level.

Yes, if you have completed vocational training or a continuous education course, have multiple years of professional experience and pass the university-internal aptitude test. Information on the aptitude tests can be accessed here.

The main advantage is the opportunity to learn whenever and wherever. The distance learning programmes enable students to gain additional qualifications over a manageable and independently organised period without having to neglect their jobs or families. In other words, the programmes and courses can be adapted to individual private and professional circumstances.

Ja, eine Ratenzahlung im Fernstudium ist grundsätzlich möglich. Weitere Informationen rund um das Vorgehen und einzuhaltende Fristen erhalten Sie hier.

Fernstudierende haben die Möglichkeit, die Angebote des Unisports unter denselben Konditionen wahrzunehmen wie Präsenzstudierende. Durch Vorlage Ihres Universitätsausweises erhalten Sie Zugang zu allen Angeboten für Studierende. Dazu zählen sowohl das Fitnessstudio Unifit als auch das Sportprogramm des Unisports. Weitere Informationen rund um Kurse, Abonnements und sonstige sportliche Veranstaltungen finden Sie hier.

Fernstudierende erhalten einen Bibliothekszugang, der sowohl für die Fernausleihe, als auch zur Ausleihe vor Ort berechtigt. Weiterführende Informationen zur Anmeldung des Bibliothekskontos und (Fern-)Ausleihe finden Sie hier.

Ein Gasthörerstatus für Lehrangebote anderer Bereiche der Technischen Universität Kaiserslautern ist nicht im Fernstudium inbegriffen. Die Gasthörerschaft muss bei der Abteilung für Studienangelegenheiten bis zum jeweiligen Vorlesungsstart des Semesters beantragt werden. Weiterführende Informationen zu Voraussetzungen und Gebühren finden Sie hier.

Ob ein Anspruch auf Bildungsurlaub besteht, ist stets vom Bundesland abhängig und muss daher individuell betrachtet werden. Darüber hinaus unterscheiden sich die einzuhaltenden Fristen, die Dauer sowie die finanzielle Unterstützung der Arbeitgeber. Einen Überblick mit allen wichtigen Informationen und Gesetzen für eine Antragstellung finden Sie hier.

Neben der kontinuierlichen Ansprechbarkeit und Beratung durch das Programmmanagement der jeweiligen Studiengänge gibt es zudem weiterführende Maßnahmen wie beispielsweise die eDSL oder KLOOCs. Ebenso findet einmal im Jahr die DISC-Werkstatt in Kaiserslautern statt, in der mehrere Seminare zu bestimmten Themen angeboten werden.

Die Absolventenfeier des DISC findet alle zwei Jahre im Rahmen der "European Researchers Night" (ehemalige „Nacht, die Wissen schafft“) an der TU Kaiserslautern statt. Wer sich im Alumni-Netzwerk TUKAN registriert, erhält hierzu immer die aktuellsten Informationen.

Alle ausführlichen Informationen hierzu befinden sich auf folgender Seite.

Grundsätzlich ja, aber die Feststellung, ob ein Studiengang für ein bestimmtes Promotionsstudium fachlich geeignet ist, bleibt der betreffenden Behörde beziehungsweise Hochschule vorbehalten. Die Zulassung zu einer Promotion regeln die jeweiligen Promotionsordnungen. Studierende müssen sich eigenständig entsprechende Betreuer/innen (Lehrstuhlinhaber/innen) für die Doktorarbeit suchen und klären, welche Voraussetzungen die geltende Promotionsordnung vorgibt.

Die Technische Universität Kaiserslautern bietet Studierenden und an der TU Kaiserslautern beschäftigten Eltern ein Eltern-Kind-Zimmer an, das auch von Fernstudierenden mit Kind während der Präsenzphasen folgendermaßen genutzt werden kann: Beispielsweise können stillende Mütter vor und nach Seminaren oder Prüfungen ihr Kind in angenehmer Atmosphäre versorgen, sodass sie sich der Lern- oder Prüfungssituation ungestört widmen können. Eltern können eine Betreuung ihrer Kinder selbst organisieren (Betreuungsperson mitbringen oder bei der Familien-Service-Stelle nachfragen). Das Zimmer kann maximal von zwei Familien gleichzeitig belegt werden. Voraussetzung für eine Doppelnutzung ist das Einverständnis der Familie, die zuerst gebucht hat.

Eine Unterbrechung des Fernstudiums, beispielsweise durch ein Urlaubssemester, ist möglich.

Die Förderung eines Fernstudiums am DISC nach dem Arbeitsförderungsgesetz oder dem Bundesausbildungsförderungsgesetz (BAföG) ist nicht möglich. Häufig übernimmt aber der Arbeitgeber die Kosten für das Fernstudium. Der Einsatz sogenannter Bildungs- und Qualifizierungschecks für ein Fernstudium ist ebenfalls möglich. Eine Unterstützung bei der Realisierung individueller Weiterbildungswünsche können auch zinsgünstige Kredite sein, die von Banken angeboten werden. Weitere Informationen zu Förderung- und Finanzierungsmöglichkeiten finden Sie hier.

Generell gilt, dass ausländische Studierende, die in Deutschland ein deutschsprachiges Hochschulstudium aufnehmen wollen, einen Nachweis über hinreichende Deutschkenntnisse vorlegen müssen. Dieser Nachweis erfolgt in der Regel über das Ablegen der Deutschen Sprachprüfung für den Hochschulzugang (DSH). Die DSH richtet sich an alle ausländischen Bewerbenden, die bereits eine gültige Zulassung zum Studium für das dem DSH-Prüfungstermin folgende Semester besitzen. Die erfolgreiche Teilnahme an der DSH ist für alle Bewerbenden obligatorisch. Es gibt jedoch einige Ausnahmen. Von der DSH freigestellt sind beispielsweise: 1. Bewerbende, die die erforderlichen Sprachkenntnisse in Form eines Schulabschlusses, der einer deutschen Hochschulzugangsberechtigung entspricht, nachweisen können. 2. Bewerbende, die das Deutsche Sprachdiplom (Stufe II) der Kultusministerkonferenz (DSD II) besitzen. 3. Bewerbende, die ein Zeugnis über die bestandene Zentrale Oberstufenprüfung (ZOP) des Goethe-Institutes besitzen. 4. Bewerbende, die ein kleines deutsches Sprachdiplom oder ein großes deutsches Sprachdiplom des Goethe-Institutes besitzen. 5. Bewerbende, die die DSH an einer ausländischen Hochschule unter Verantwortung eines Studienkollegs oder eines Lehrgebiets Deutsch als Fremdsprache abgelegt haben. 6. Bewerbende, die eine Feststellungs- oder Abschlussprüfung an einem deutschen Studienkolleg absolviert haben. Weiterhin ist ein Nachweis über hinreichende Deutschkenntnisse nicht notwendig, wenn es sich um englischsprachige Studiengänge handelt. Hier ist dann jedoch ein Nachweis über ausreichende englische Sprachkenntnisse notwendig. Weitere Informationen zu den Sprachkenntnissen sind hier zu finden. 

Der Zeitaufwand für ein Fernstudium kann individuell sehr unterschiedlich ausfallen und kommt auf Ihr Vorwissen und Ihre persönliche Lernstrategie an. Unsere mehr als 25-jährige Fernstudienerfahrung zeigt jedoch, dass Studierende im Schnitt mit einem Aufwand von circa 20 Stunden pro Woche rechnen sollten. Der Arbeitsaufwand entsteht durch das Bearbeiten der Selbstlernmaterialien, die Recherche von Literatur, die Beantwortung von Übungsaufgaben oder das Schreiben von Hausarbeiten und Klausuren sowie durch die Präsenzphasen.

In der Regel werden Auswahltermine für die Präsenzphasen angeboten. Sollten Studierende durch einen beruflich bedingten Auslandsaufenthalt nicht an der Präsenzphase teilnehmen können, besteht in einigen Studiengängen die Möglichkeit, die Leistungen extern abzulegen, also auf Antrag zeitnah an einem deutschen Institut vor Ort. Bei Nichtteilnahme an Präsenzphasen ist in einigen Studiengängen eine Ersatzleistung zu erbringen. Auch ist ein Rücktritt von Leistungen möglich.

Das Studium besteht aus einer Kombination von Selbstlernphasen mit Hilfe von Selbstlernmaterialien, die speziell für das Fernstudium entwickelt wurden, und Präsenzphasen, die in der Regel an einem (verlängerten) Wochenende ein- bis zweimal pro Semester stattfinden. Die Teilnahme an den Präsenzphasen ist verpflichtender Bestandteil des Fernstudiums. Zentrale Anlaufstelle für Studierende ist der Online-Campus mit Online-Lernumgebungen für jeden Fernstudiengang.

Im Rahmen der Akkreditierung wird der Studiengang anhand von Kriterien, die der Deutsche Akkreditierungsrat festlegt, bewertet und auf diese Weise die Qualität des Studiums sichergestellt. Die meisten Studiengänge des DISC werden von Akkreditierungsagenturen begutachtet, einige durchlaufen die Systemakkreditierung der TU Kaiserslautern oder der Universität des Saarlandes.

Grundsätzlich besteht die Möglichkeit, Studienleistungen und anderweitig erworbene Kompetenzen im Fernstudium anerkennen zu lassen. Die Anerkennung von Kompetenzen ist in den jeweiligen Prüfungsordnungen geregelt und können nur durch den Prüfungsausschuss ausgesprochen werden. Dazu sind in der Regel Nachweise über erworbene Kompetenzen beizubringen.

Ja, die akkreditierten, postgradualen Fernstudiengänge des DISC schließen - je nach Ausrichtung - mit dem akademischen Grad Master of Arts, Master of Science, Master of Laws sowie Master of Engineering ab. Absolventinnen und Absolventen der Zertifikatsstudiengänge erhalten ein universitäres Zertifikat. 

Weiterbildende (Fern-)Studiengänge setzen in der Regel neben einem ersten qualifizierenden Hochschulabschluss berufspraktische Erfahrungen voraus (mindestens ein Jahr). Die Studiendauer variiert am DISC zwischen zwei und sechs Semestern. Die weiterbildenden Studiengänge des DISC richten sich meist an Berufstätige, die sich in ihrem Arbeits- oder Fachgebiet spezialisieren wollen und sind deshalb berufsbegleitend, d. h. in einer Teilzeitform, studierbar. Weiterbildende Studiengänge sind häufig eher anwendungsorientiert und versuchen, die aktuellen Bedürfnisse des Arbeitsmarktes zu berücksichtigen. Forschungsorientierte Weiterbildungsstudiengänge bereiten in der Regel auf eine akademische Laufbahn an der Hochschule oder in Forschungseinrichtungen vor. Weiterbildende Studiengänge schließen in Rheinland-Pfalz mit einem Master oder einem Zertifikat ab.

Das DISC ist eine zentrale wissenschaftliche Einrichtung der Technischen Universität Kaiserslautern und bietet insgesamt 23 postgraduale Fernstudiengänge mit Master- oder Zertifikatsabschluss in den Bereichen Human Resources, Management & Law sowie Science & Engineering an. Die Studiengänge ermöglichen Absolventinnen und Absolventen von Universitäten und Hochschulen die individuelle Weiterbildung auf wissenschaftlichem Niveau.

Ja, nach einer beruflichen Aus- oder Weiterbildung, mehrjähriger einschlägiger Berufserfahrung und Bestehen der hochschulinternen Eignungsprüfung kann man auch ohne ersten Hochschulabschluss zugelassen werden. Details zu den Eignungsprüfungen befinden sich hier.

Vorteile eines Fernstudiums sind das orts- und zeitunabhängige Lehren und Lernen. Es ermöglicht den Studierenden, ihre Weiterqualifizierung neben Beruf und Familie in einem überschaubaren und selbstorganisierten Zeitrahmen zu realisieren, das heißt an individuelle private und berufliche Gegebenheiten angepasst.